Forum Settings
Forums
New
Apr 14, 2009 12:18 PM

Jun 2008
I was discussing about the widget set we should use with Winrar the last days and to make the whole thing more community like, here is a log of the discussion. Anyone is free to comment, especially with knowledge about widget sets.

So here is the log:

(edit: sorry, quote highlighting was lost in the copying process)

Message Sent from Winrar
Yesterday, 6:19 AM
About AnimeCollector
Hello!

I'm a software developer, and I'm interested in joining your very promising AnimeCollector project.
I'm currently studying Computer Science and I have previous programming experience with Python, C/C++, Java, JavaScript, Pascal, PHP, ASP and Perl.

I usually use GNU/Linux as my main O.S., but it would be nice to see AnimeCollector as a multiplatform application, since it's already written in Python. Therefore, I would be willing to help you port the code to the wxWidgets toolkit, which is a multiplatform API and looks very nice (nicer than GTK, in my humble opinion) on all platforms without having to rewrite the code.

I was planning to do this myself since I wanted an open source, lightweight and multiplatform updater. But then I saw your project and I became very excited. Also, AniDB support is an excellent idea.

A little question: Did you use a network sniffer to know how MAL Updater worked? It seems Kotori asked for a custom-made XML for retrieving Anime Lists quickly.

I would be happy to hear a reply from you. Please ask me whatever you want.

Thanks. Best regards,
-Winrar

Message Sent from skriticos
Yesterday, 12:00 PM
re: About AnimeCollector
Hello Winrar,

first I want to tell you that I was really pleased to read your message, as this is exactly the way I want to have the project going. :)

As for your questions:
A little question: Did you use a network sniffer to know how MAL Updater worked? It seems Kotori asked for a custom-made XML for retrieving Anime Lists quickly.