Forum Settings
Forums
New
Apr 24, 2011 2:44 PM

Apr 2010
This is a thread for card making pros who want to share their tipps and tricks with rookies to help them improve!

well i'm not a pro but i have a few tipps as well (if you think they're crap pls tell me^^):

- if you don't know which color you should use for the text chose a color from the picture, the color will match to 99%
- don't use too many different fonts, since it looks messy ( i use at maximum 2 fonts on one card)
- don't try to make the card too overloaded, a plain card looks normally better
- use a program which can create layers and then make everything in a new layer (for example the background image in a different layer than the text) it's easier to correct mistakes or to try different things out like this
- save your cards as png since it has a better quality than jpg and it is able to handle transparency

i use paint.NET to create my cards, it's available for free and easy to use, even a beginner will be able to work with it^^

xRay-chanxApr 24, 2011 3:23 PM
Reply Disabled for Non-Club Members
Apr 25, 2011 1:05 PM

Jun 2010
I'm no pro either but I've been there as well.. most of you probably know these already but sometimes we still forget
the simplest and most basics of things..so I hope they'll be useful :D

■ be sure to familiarize yourself with the software/program you're using (knowing some of the keyboard shortcuts won't hurt right? coz
it's really gonna be useful when editing your cards...I know it's bothersome but when you get there, you'll know what I mean :P). For
photoshop users, you can open your keyboard shortcuts and menus by clicking Edit>Keyboard Shortcut/Menus or just simply press
Alt+Shift+Ctrl+K or replace K with M..you can also refer to this
■ for a perfect circle/square border/shape, just press shift while dragging the cursor
■ to choose a color from the picture, just click the eyedropper tool on the tools menu, also as addition to what xRay-chanx said above,